Colors in Buddhism

The principle colors involved in Buddhism are Blue, Black, White, Red, Green, and Yellow, and each — except for Black — are aligned to a specific Buddha. These colors each signify a virtue and a character. Lets see what these colors represent in Buddhism.


Associated with the Akshobhya Buddha and the healer ‘Blue Buddha,’ Blue represents tranquility, ascension, the infinite, purity, and healing. Over all, the color represents wisdom.The light blue speaks of the limitless heights of ascension simultaneously; it embodies the duality of living and dying.


White is representative of the principles of purity, as in Western Culture, but it is also considered the color of knowledge and longevity. White is associated with the Buddha Vairocana.


The color red symbolizes life-force, preservation, fire, and sacred things or places.. Red is associated with the Buddha Amitabha. Throughout Tibetan culture, red is a marker of sacred areas. This color is also seen on the garments of the monks. It is believed to be a protective color, like that of shamanistic wards.


Green denotes youth, vigor, action (Karma), and harmony. It also represents balance and is associated visually with the lush trees. Green is associated with the Buddha Amoghasiddhi.


Yellow is the color that possesses the highest symbolic quality because of the saffron color of the monks’ robes. It was chosen as a symbol of humility and separation from materialistic society. It symbolizes renunciation. Because it is also the color of the earth, yellow denotes stability and grounded nature. It is a sign of humility.This color was chosen by Gautama Buddha.

1 response to Colors in Buddhism

  1. Thanks for information.
    many interesting things

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *