Buddhist Diet

In the Five Precepts of Buddhism, Buddhist practitioners should avoid the intake of intoxicating food like alcohol and drugs. So, what is a real Buddhist diet?

Strictly speaking, there are no dietary regulations for Buddhists. A Buddhist should abstain from intoxicates such as drugs and alcohol as well as meat killed especially for the purpose of consumption. The problems with diet lie in one’s reasons for eating, but not what one eats. Having lots of choices of simple food, but keeping away from them just because the desire for meat and apple pie, is falling victim to craving beyond what one really wants. Attachment and desire are considered as the source of suffering.

  • Non-Caffeine, Non-Alcohol, Non-Altering
    For a Buddhist, the most important thing is to keep his mind clear and mindful. Caffeine, alcohol and other mind-exciting substances will do great harm to a Buddhist’s peacefulness and set obstacles for a Buddhist to refrain from delusion and illusion.
  • Non-Alive
    A Buddhist believes in the avoidance of taking the life of all living beings. As such, alive beings like animals are prohibited for a Buddhist. It is seen as a way to gain suffering to kill animals.
  • Non- Root Vegetables
    Root vegetables like potatoes, carrots and onion are strictly banned in Buddhist cuisine, since the killing of root vegetables will result in the death of the vegetables. However, beans and fruit are used by a Buddhist.
  • Not All Are Vegetarians
    There is a myth that a Buddhist is supposed to be a vegetarian. In fact, it is not that case, since the choice of vegetarian is just an individual lifestyle. What’s more, Buddhist practice is not a matter of vegetarian. In a Buddhist eyes, the killing of plants is also seen as an action of killing, which is an infringement of the Five Precepts.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *